Follow Up: What is an ‘Arangetram?’

The word ‘arangetram’ means ‘ascending the stage.’ Now that you know what Bharatanatyam is (if you don’t I recommend looking at the post below on Bharatnatyam) I’ll discuss what an arangetram is. After about 8 years of training, the dancer goes through an additional year of training which is all about polishing, stamina building and dancing at a higher level. At the end, the dancer performs an ‘arangetram’ which is the dancer’s first solo performance. This showcases seven or eight items and marks the beginning of a dancer’s journey.

All this really means is that you become a real dancer and all your work over years pays off!

The reason I want to get to this stage is that I want to be able to go further with dance later on in life, and one of the best ways to be able to do that is to have all the skills of a real dancer.

Now that you know a little more, this whole ordeal should make a lot more sense.

Please be sure to comment, share, like and follow me and RSVP here for the event! By clicking on the title of my post, you will be able to see the complete post and leave a reply. When you access my blog on a desktop, there’s a tiny blue plus sign on the lower right hand corner which says ‘follow’ – please click on this to support me and receive updates.  (I’m not sure how it works on a smartphone yet!)

I appreciate everyone’s taking out the time to visit my blog. Please stay tuned to learn more about all things me and all things dance!

See you next time!

2 comments

  1. Sugandha gupta · May 9

    Hello dear
    So well explained, kudos for the efforts, wish you success! God bless, sugandha

    Like

Leave a Reply ...

